Board of Directors Information and Roster

The Kern Regional Center Board of Directors is composed of 16 individuals with demonstrated interest in developmental disabilities. Fifteen of these Directors are elected by a majority vote of the Board and, in accordance with Welfare and Institutions Code §4622, one (1) director shall be appointed through the Vendor Advisory Commitee for a 2 year term. The membership includes representatives of the various categories of disability (mental retardation, epilepsy, cerebral palsy, and autism) and reflects the geographic and ethnic characteristics of the three counties we serve.  Some Board members are persons with developmental disabilities or their parents, others are professionals in the field and interested citizens. All Board members serve in a voluntary capacity, giving generously of their time, energy and skills to attend meetings, visit programs, and work on behalf of the corporation and citizens with disabilities.


It is the Board that determines the corporation's mission and purpose. The Board exercises general direction and establishes policies concerning the operation of the corporation. In addition, the Board provides for meaningful and extensive client and public participation in the development of agency policies by actively seeking advice from standing advisory committees.


Jasmeet Bains, MD, President

NickoleRenee Mensch,

Vice President

Martin Vasquez, Secretary

Kevin Gosselin, Treasurer

Shawn White, VAC

Oscar Axume

Ryan Jones

Donald Tobias

Mark Tolentino

Simon Verdugo

Ruth Watterson